top of page

July 2021: Volunteers Honored After a Difficult Year


After canceling last year’s annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner due to COVID, we were determined to honor the extraordinary efforts made by our Marysville Community Food Bank volunteers during the pandemic crisis. They did the essential work of getting food into the hands of a huge number of families experiencing food insecurity — many for the first time. On June 16, we celebrated more than 100 of those dedicated volunteers who deserved combat pay but instead were treated to a 4:00 picnic ‘linner’ — a meal between the usual hours of lunch and dinner — under clear blue skies in the Food Bank parking lot.

Director Dell Deierling honored the hardworking volunteers who earned the President’s Volunteer Service Gold Award in 2019 or 2020 with 500+ hours: Jim Adrian, Jennifer Chapman, Sue Cooper, Judy Deeter, Karen Hammontree, Tracy Holder, ark Jensen, Barb LaMere, Diane Nehring, Dan Pradera, Keith Ramage, Caroline Sloniker, Collin Smith, Mike Snodgrass, Howard Southern (posthumously), Patty Wernet, Ty Wernet and Saxon White. Also honored was young adult Brianna Scott with 250+ hours. Teens recognized for 100+ hours of service were Alyssa Dyer, Jeremiah Pickle, Josh Pickle, Nathaniel Pickle, Bridget Stephenson and Leif Winter.

Earning the Lifetime Achievement Award for serving 4,000+ hours were Jon Alexander, Gloria Kuether and Diane Mason. Ty Wernet received the 2019 Volunteer of Year award and Jon Alexander earned that honor for 2020. (See below and page 2 for details.)

Dell also recognized five MVPs who were all runners-up for 2020 Volunteer of the Year: Jennifer Chapman, Joe Murray, Dan Pradera, Stephen Smith and Mike Snodgrass. In this topsy-turvy pandemic year, their steadfast help, willingness to adapt, and upbeat attitude have been crucial to the successful running of the Marysville Community Food Bank through all the ups and downs.

Thank you to all our essential volunteers!

165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page